In Memory of Karen Ffolkes

On Sunday, August 31, 2008 at 12:30am, my good friend lost her battle with cancer; she was one of the funniest people I knew; bright, beautiful, outgoing, made good decisions, independent, business savvy, and she enjoyed life. Karen Ffolkes embodied what it means to “live life to the fullest”. She laughed loud, was a pretty good story teller, and a sincere person.

I would like to talk about how important it is to reach out to friends and family who are suffering from deadly diseases, such as cancer, and show then how much you care. Cancer is no easy fight—a constant and exhausting battle with no cure insight [some researchers disagree]; many families are left without mothers, fathers, brothers, sisters, or cousins. What more could we do to keep our families and friends safe from this horrible disease and to put an end to the pain of loosing a love one, friend, or neighbor.

I hope that researchers find a cure for cancer soon, and that those who died before [a cure] will be in our thoughts forever. As I’m writing this message a poem comes to mind (I’m no poet). I’m writing it now as I think of my friend, and it goes like this:

Death where have you gone?
Death is no respect of persons
Its grip is certain
Escape soul escape
Where to I don’t know
You know the way
Lifeless body without soul
Breathe no more
Void of life and pain no more
Gone from this shell forever

I regret not spending more time with Karen. It’s so easy to get caught up with work and stuff and ignore that voice inside your head and heart that urges you to do what’s important now; thus, missing out on nurturing relationships with friends and family.

The good thing about my memories of Karen is that they are satisfying. I smile every time I think of her, and the many laughs we had together. She was fun, easy going, and she made me laugh so hard that within seconds of being around her–I was running to the restroom, my bladder about to burst from the force of my laughter, but she persistently milk the punch line, again and again and again. You should have been there!

Karen, you were an exceptional human being. I MISS YOU!

Rest in peace Karen Ffolkes!
~Jennifer

One Response

  1. ” My Cherished Memories”
    What happened?
    Why is it so dark?
    Where did you go?
    I wasn’t finished sharing with you.
    It’s not fair.
    Come back.
    I won’t be mad.
    I promise.
    I just want to laugh with you.
    I have things to tell you.
    I have more things to say!
    But, I guess I’lll have to wait,
    Until I see you again.
    Don,t forget me.
    I’ll NEVER forget you.
    I’ll have “my cherished memories” to
    help me get through my
    suffering…..”What did you say?”
    You do not want me to cry? You want me to smile.
    You want me to keep your spirit alive?
    You want me to talk about you?

    I’ll always love you.
    Bye for now.

    To Jennifer for Karen.

    Love,

    Doraz

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

